IPC Inspires the Next Generation of Independent Pharmacists with Eight Pharmacy Scholarship Awards

SUN PRAIRIE, WI, July 25, 2019 – Independent Pharmacy Cooperative (IPC) is thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2019 student scholarships. Eight pharmacy student winners were awarded a $1,500 scholarship, with supporting funds from McKesson Corporation.

Shelby Barga            Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy

Christine Lawson      University of Iowa College of Pharmacy

Amber Lilly                Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy

Tyler Lynn                 Northeast Ohio Medical University College of Pharmacy

Aaron McDonough    University of Iowa College of Pharmacy

Eric Nemkovich         Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences – Pharmacy School

Victoria Ricciardi       Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences – Pharmacy School

Kayla Shaw               University of Missouri Kansas City School of Pharmacy

Scholarships were awarded to students who won IPC’s yearly essay competition, judged by executive staff and IPC Board Members. The students were asked to detail their most memorable Independent Pharmacy Conference experience. IPC hosted and sponsored more than 40 pharmacy students from 12 universities that attended the ninth annual Independent Pharmacy Conference held in San Antonio, Texas May 2-5, 2019. The event presented students with an opportunity to learn about what an independent pharmacy business entails and network with store owners, industry experts, pharmacy vendors, and IPC staff.

“Supporting the next generation of independent pharmacists is one of the most important functions of IPC,” IPC President and CEO Don Anderson said. “IPC is proud to continue our history of encouraging and meeting with future industry leaders to inspire and educate these exceptional students.”

IPC would like to congratulate not just the winners of the essay competition, but all attending students on their accomplishments in pharmacy. We are optimistic about their successful careers still ahead of them and the future of independent pharmacy. IPC has awarded more than $140,000 in support of future community pharmacists since 2011, with 92 scholarships distributed. Additionally, more than 400 students have been sponsored attendess of the conference, hailing from universities across the United States.

McKesson Corporation, a sponsor and supporter of the IPC Conference Student Program commented, “The essays submitted this year make it clear that each student who attended the Independent Pharmacy Conference, left with valuable tools and experiences, which will help them as they pursue a career in pharmacy,” Rex Catton, Senior Vice President, Independent National Accounts – McKesson Corporation said. “We are proud to join IPC as they foster a bright future for independent pharmacy through their student program.”

Dating back to 1983, IPC is the nation's largest group purchasing organization owned by independent pharmacy, representing nearly 6,000 members. With locations in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin and Phoenix, Arizona, IPC prides itself on providing access to the most effective programs and services to put profit back into independent pharmacy.

For additional information contact:

Linda Reedy
Director of Marketing and Communications
Independent Pharmacy Cooperative